Set the currency per Invoice

Hey guys, I saw a topic which addressed the feature: Multiple Currencies Support Enabled
It looks like that you should be able to choose the currency when you create an invoice, but I don’t see that anywhere.
I’m using v1.5.11.

It’s a good feature request.

What did you have in mind?
A button? A selectbox?

And if I select the currency, where do I store that setting for that invoice?
How do you calculate the difference between the set currency and your base currency?

All these things need to be worked out first.

To be honest, I’m new to InvoicePlane so I don’t know that much about it, nor have I used it for now. But It looks very promising.

So to elaborate on that. I guess it would make sense to have a select box. So when you click on new invoice, you choose your customer, the currency and your invoice group.

I’m not familiar with invoiceplanes models, but if you ask me like that, that means we have a “base currency” which is used through the system/db. Okay I think that means we would need a field for the exchange rate as well, guess it would be the easiest way to let the user enter it. Inside your db the base currency should be of type decimal of course, the new “set currency” also. With the exact exchange rate you are able to “move” between the two currencies without ending up in rounding issues.

There could be a problem with this approach. For example, you (base USD) write your invoice in another foreign currency (EUR). Your customer pays e.g. 30 days later in EUR. So now you would have to adapt the exchange rate, so that the conversion matches the final value you received on your bank account. So it would be up to the user to determine the exchange rate and also to subtract out any additional service/ bank fees (if there are any).
So when the user clicks on new invoice, he/she can select a currency from a select box + enter a exchange rate (which btw. can be updated any time).
I don’t know, does this make sense?