Is my Invoiceplane under attack?

Hi everyone.

I’m a web designer and I started using invoiceplane 1.5.5 on January 1st for my invoices.
I think it’s amazing and I started suggesting it to many friends of mine.
Now, after just two months, something very weird happened, that id’ like to share with you all for an opinion.

One of my clients, instead of my invoice send through Invoiceplane, received a fake one, where everything is the same, but the IBAN code where to pay.
How I discovered that? After calling him for past-due payment, he gave me the wire tranfer receipt. I was about to faint. :flushed:

I immediately checked my Invoiceplane installation, the database, the template file (where I wrote the IBAN directly as html text within PHP) looking for something, an error. Found nothing. :sweat:
I checked my email account, where Invoiceplane sends in bcc all the invoices I send to my clients. Fortunately the invoice attached to the e-mail was right, the IBAN was mine.
I tried to send the same invoice to my e-mail and another account I manage through Invoiceplane interface and everything was right. The pdfs were right. :sweat_smile:
(Invoiceplane is configured to send e-mails through the same SMTPS account of the website’s domain where it’s installed).

Yes, it’s what they call a “man in the mail” attack: my client paid the invoice to the wrong IBAN, the thief ran away and now we’re trying to get money back with the help of the bank, but probably we won’t succeed. :scream:

The question is: it’s me or it’s my client? . :exploding_head:

So far, it has happened with just one client. Some others have already paid on the right IBAN, but I did not have time to call them all to verify the code on all the invoices.
So, as the hours go by, I think that probably the problem is on my client’s computer: maybe someone else is really reading and changing his e-mails. Maybe he has a virus/worm… He said he uses Outlook on Windows… And he doesn’t even know what version… :roll_eyes: