Tried everything SMTP connect() failed

Hi all,

I am using InvoicePlane v1.5.11, PHP v7.4.33 and I believe I am using v6.1 PHPMailer, not sure where to check it.

Like many other people on this forum I’m getting this error when I attempt to send an invoice via SMTP: SMTP connect() failed.
I’ve been working with this platform for about 2 years (I run it locally, no hosting services) and barely had any hiccups, but this one I cannot crack. I flew to Europe from the US for a few weeks and couldn’t get the SMTP function to work there and when I got back to the US it, unfortunately, did still not work (it did prior to my trip).

I’ve read Troubleshooting · PHPMailer/PHPMailer Wiki · GitHub. Tried:

• Triple checked SMTP settings, password etc.
  • Couldn’t get the debugging function ($mail->SMTPDebug = SMTP::DEBUG_SERVER;) to work (any advice on how that works?)
  • dig +short smtp-mail.outlook.com (provides the feedback it should)
  • ping smtp-mail.outlook.com (provides the feedback it should)
  • nc -v smtp-mail.outlook.com 587 (provides the feedback it should)
  • No firewall locally should be blocking
  • Made sure Outlook has SMTP enabled on my account
  • Ran this to check whether that seems to work and it did. “echo QUIT | openssl s_client -starttls smtp -crlf -connect smtp-mail.outlook.com:587

I’ve searched online, searched the forum and I am all out of ideas.

Any proposal to what I can do? The system worked fine for 2 years and then all of a sudden it stops working. I’m not very experienced in this, but I’ll do my best to comprehend whatever you throw at me.

1 Like

I’m guessing you’re using hotmail/outlook?
I’ve once gone through some heavy debugging in that SMTP mail sending long time ago, it’s a pain.

I only know that Microsoft sometimes changes things, i just hope it’s not the caae this time…

SMTP connects with something i call a 'connection string, i just hope that somewhere in there it says something about being connected correctly.