Updating and moving to a new server

Hi

I have an older version of invoice plane and need to move it to a new domain for testing.
Then I want to rename the test domain back to the old domain name to go live when i am happy with everything. I am also moving, converting an old joomla site to wordpress at the same time in the same way. Invoice plane is in a folder of this install like mydomain.com/invoices

First I wondered where i can find out what my version of invoice plane. It does not seem to say in the back office.

Then I wanted to know the steps to update an older version of invoice plane to the latest. Do i have to step upgrade versions or can i go straight from the quite old version (about 5 years or more) to the latest. 1.6

Also when i change back the domain what files in invoice plane will i have to change when i the url of the new install from mytestdomain .com/invoices to mydomain .com/invoices

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I am a self taught web person so i apologise if i am using the incorrect terms here,

I am a self taught web person so i apologise if i am using the incorrect terms here,

Don’t worry about that, it’s just lits of steps to answer.
To find the version, check composer.json. i Don’t know if the version was in there 5 years ago, but it’s in there for a while

Also check out https://github.com/InvoicePlane/InvoicePlane/tree/development/application/modules/setup/sql and /application/modules/setup/sql on your server. You’ll see some versions there.

1 Like

Thanks so much for the help. Would never had known where to look. Nothing in composer file
022_1.4.10.sql is the latest in /application/modules/setup/sql

If it would have been my own hobby project i would:

• apply the sql filesto the database, 1by1
  • fresh install of 1.6
  • place that database in the fresh install
  • apply customizations that you would have made long time ago

For production project… would be interesting decision.